LispCast http://www.lispcast.com/ A blog about the simple joys of functional programming. en Pre-West Prep: Fumiko Hanreich http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-fumiko-hanreich http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-fumiko-hanreich Mon 30 Mar 2015 11:09:44 PM EDT Fumiko Hanreich will talk about HoneySQL. <p><center><a href="http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-fumiko-hanreich">Read full post</a></center></p> Clojure Test Directory http://www.lispcast.com/clojure-test-directory http://www.lispcast.com/clojure-test-directory Mon 30 Mar 2015 10:55:57 PM EDT Where to put your tests is a common question. You could put them anywhere, but you want to pick a place that makes it easy to find, easy to exclude from production, and work well with your tools. My recommendation is to follow what most projects do, which takes care of all of these requirements. <p><center><a href="http://www.lispcast.com/clojure-test-directory">Read full post</a></center></p> Pre-conj Prep: John Hume http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-john-hume http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-john-hume Sun 29 Mar 2015 07:18:19 PM CDT Life of a clojure expression: a quick tour of clojure internals <p><center><a href="http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-john-hume">Read full post</a></center></p> Pre-conj Prep: Yoko Harada http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-yoko-harada http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-yoko-harada Sun 29 Mar 2015 07:05:22 PM CDT Yoko Harada will be speaking on ClojureBridge and the challenges of writing a curriculum for beginner programmers. <p><center><a href="http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-yoko-harada">Read full post</a></center></p> LispCast Intro to clojure.test http://www.lispcast.com/clojure-test-launch http://www.lispcast.com/clojure-test-launch Sat 28 Mar 2015 01:36:41 PM CDT LispCast Intro to clojure.test will launch this week. <p><center><a href="http://www.lispcast.com/clojure-test-launch">Read full post</a></center></p> Example-based Unit Testing in Clojure http://www.lispcast.com/unit-testing-in-functional-languages http://www.lispcast.com/unit-testing-in-functional-languages Thu 26 Mar 2015 11:36:28 AM CDT Unit testing in Clojure is straightforward. Here are a few testing ideas as they apply to Clojure. <p><center><a href="http://www.lispcast.com/unit-testing-in-functional-languages">Read full post</a></center></p> The conj Mental Bump http://www.lispcast.com/conj-mental-bump http://www.lispcast.com/conj-mental-bump Mon 23 Mar 2015 11:18:42 PM CDT conj can be confusing if you're used to other languages. It is not a commonly defined operation. Most languages define common positional adding operations. conj, however, has more useful semantics. How do you use conj usefully if you can't guarantee the position? <p><center><a href="http://www.lispcast.com/conj-mental-bump">Read full post</a></center></p> Pre-West Prep: Elango Cheran http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-elango-cheran http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-elango-cheran Sat 21 Mar 2015 11:28:46 PM CDT Elango Cheran will talk about writing Clojure in other spoken languages. <p><center><a href="http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-elango-cheran">Read full post</a></center></p> Pre-West Prep: Dan Lidral-Porter http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-dan-lidral-porter http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-dan-lidral-porter Sat 21 Mar 2015 10:33:56 PM CDT Dan Lidral-Porter will talk about computer-generated art in Clojure. <p><center><a href="http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-dan-lidral-porter">Read full post</a></center></p> Pre-West Prep: Colin Fleming http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-colin-fleming http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-colin-fleming Sat 21 Mar 2015 09:35:14 PM CDT Colin Fleming will talk about debugging in Cursive. <p><center><a href="http://www.lispcast.com/pre-west-colin-fleming">Read full post</a></center></p>